Runaway 

“You’ve got a fast car
Is it fast enough so we can fly away?

We’ve gotta make a decision,

Leave tonight or live and die this way.”
Running

Alone

always 

And ever

alone
Shame on my heels

Glued to the soles of my feet,

Stitched so tight so

No matter how fast or far I run

It’s always with me

An ever present shadow

Abyss yawning black

Hungry to gobble me up

What did I do this time?

With who?

How?

To try to outrun my self

To fit in

To be a part of someone else

We
But it was always me

Running 

Running 

Running into trouble 

Away from 

What?

Loneliness 

Despair 

Couplings that somehow left me

More severely and achingly 

Alone
Running lead me across the state,

Across the seaboard,

Crisscrossing destinations 

And mistakes

This & that

Him & him

Until finally 

I fell

Swallowed whole by the darkness 

Left in brittle limbo

Til rescued 

First by family,

Then by self
Running away

Now

Is only temporary 

(Wasn’t it always?)

Now, intentionally,

And that’s the way I like it

Leave a Reply

