Banner

Banner
As I walk around today

An ordinary day

In my ordinary town

Driving an ordinary, if annoyingly

Defective, car
I realize that I am walking differently…
I am wearing an invisible banner
What does it say?

I’m good enough – no.

Just Jen – no.

Artist – no.
Descriptions run through my head,

Trying to name and catalogue

What has allowed my shoulders to

Pull back, spine straighten,

Gait loosen and lengthen,

Hips and ass sway to a beat

That is all about ME

Owning my life, my dreams,

My inherent Me-ness 
And suddenly, the banner appears

(With color and lotsa glitter, cuz that’s the kinda girl I am)
Me

Unapologetically 

Leave a Reply

