The Hangover

The hangover cameRatcheting in on a jackhammer 

Beating cracks into every surface

Until I couldn’t see myself 

For all the broken shards
I’d been drinking too long

From the well of self loathing 

And was poisoning myself 

From the inside out
There came a day

When the sun’s brightness broke through the veil

And I ventured outward

Away from that self
Though echoes linger

Of that infernal racket

The acid hangover,

They’re more mile markers

On the road I’ve trod

Leave a Reply

