The Dressing Room

There was a timeWhen I was sure

Time was all I had –
Time to become something,

Someone,

Do something,

Connect with someone –

I both treated life like it was limitless

And raced through it like it was running out

I’d spend my days dreaming of what I wanted

My nights crying because I wasn’t there –

Now, with silver strands and laugh lines,

A prescription case filled by the week,

The only certainty I have is

There is no certainty,

So I must needs be

Seize the day,

Launch out into the free fall

Of taking chances and pursuing my dreams –

I may not be where I wanted,

I may never reach all my dreams, 

But that’s all part of the journey,

I’ve left the dressing room,

I’m on the stage.

Leave a Reply

