Every Year, Around Now

Every year, around this time

I am usually hibernating –
sleeping and feeling my psyche
dip well below the horizon
into the blackness,
bleakness,
of depression.

I am usually drowning in loneliness,
shame and disappointment in my life and
all that it is not, rather than what it is,
but not this year.

This year I am busy, and happily so.

I am engaging with my students, my friends,
my family (and dreaming of dogs I will
someday call my children, my family).

I am embracing my art in writing, painting, creating,
of course writing,
to connect with others and my real self.

This year, I am breaking free of the shackles of
what I should feel or do,
and into the world of art and self-expression.

Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “Every Year, Around Now

Leave a Reply

