I Think You Should Know

I Think You Should Know

I am not going

to try to fit myself

into what you 

or anyone else thinks

I should look like

or be

I am not going 

to wait on going out or

wearing pretty clothes,

Sunning at the beach,

getting naked in the daylight,

until my body

fits some standard

of “beauty”

I am not going

to hide myself away

until I can manage

to subsist on salads

and spend half of my life

On a hamster’s wheel, 

and laugh at people 

with ridicule

and act as though rudeness

doesn’t hurt my feelings

and pretending 

to be “cool” …

whatever the hell that means

I am not going

to stop swearing like a trucker

from time to time

and greeting animals as I see them

like they’re the cutest babies ever

talking to children and strangers

wherever I go

painting faces and getting covered in glitter

in places even I 

never foresaw

I am not going

to be anyone 

Or anything 

other than me

simply

stunningly

beautifully

me

and the only thing I’ll ever try

is to become

more me

every single day


I just thought

you should know

4 thoughts on “I Think You Should Know

Leave a Reply

