Words

Sifting

Selecting 

Tossing

Taking

Street signs

One way

Share the road

Merge

First Street

Unity

No Stopping

Walk

She asked me

No one,

Not even I,

Have ever asked me,

Are you

Angry?

YES

Oh my God

Yes

And now

Words

Images 

Feelings

Unlocked

In a torrent

Not turning left

Not merging

Not sharing 

Not standing

Storming through my carefully 

Constructed walls of

What’s 

Appropriate 

Expected

Allowed

And she wondered

If others, her predecessor, had noticed

But been afraid to say

Does that mean

For all these years

All these thousands of weeks,

Millions of hours

I’ve made people afraid of me

Because I’ve been angry

Because once

And now,

So

In other words 

Always,

I’ve been told

I was, 

One way or another,

Unacceptable 

Unworthy of

Unconditional 

Love

Oh God, 

What message am I

To make of this?!

(Still pretty angry here…)

Leave a Reply

