Adulting Sucks…

TiredTired

Tired
Tired from work

Scrambling to make enough money

To do all that I want to do –

Well, all that’s possible to wring out

Of a part-time job, which is actually 

Many
When I contemplate full-time work

I feel leaden and 

Somehow forget

To breathe
Can a person survive forever

On no real jobs?
I’m tired of having to

Roll over and play dead

When I’m pissed off

Or exhausted 

Or just fucking crabby like

Everyone else!
I love this new trend – saying “My only flaw

Is that I have no filter. I think something 

And it just flies right out of my mouth.”
You know what? That’s bullshit.

You’re rude, lazy, immature.

It’s not a mesh metal fixture you’re missing,

Jackass,

It’s a spine and self-control.
Those of us who tend to be

Considerate and thoughtful,

Who actually act like adults and

Take responsibility for what we say and do,

Or don’t say or do,

Are treated as though we have to constantly 

Flex
“Let it roll off your back.” 

“You’re the bigger person.” (Snort)

“She can’t help it – she’s never really developed those

Conversation skills.”

Well maybe she, he, they should 

Hmmmmm?
Welcome to adulthood, folks.

In this place,

You’re welcome to act like a 

Fucktrumpet,

But people will fire you,

Reject you,

Snub you,

And generally think you’re

An idiot of epic proportions.
If you ignored all those lessons 

About being in society

And showing character

Which your peers actually listened to?

Well, we just don’t give a shit here.

You’re

An

A-D-U-L-T

Which means

There ain’t no apron strings,

Friendship benches,

Or campfires where people help you

Make up

Unless

YOU

Actually do it.
That is all.

2 thoughts on “Adulting Sucks…

  1. Jennifer—this whole poem is so strong, so made up of real life—blood sweat and tears (or should I write “jeers”)……this line is so good: “I’m tired of having to

    Roll over and play dead

    When I’m pissed off

    Or exhausted

    Or just fucking crabby”………then you keep roaring on, so strongly: “Welcome to adulthood, folks.

    In this place,

    You’re welcome to act like a

    Fucktrumpet”……saying, in essence: welcome to my nightmare, what’s yours, asshole…….and: “And generally think you’re

    An idiot of epic proportions”……who the f has time for these idiots, anyway….they’re the idiots…..I liked the ending: “That is all”…..enough!……well said, well written…..

Leave a Reply

