Wings

I never believed they were there
Beneath the skin
For surely
A one such as I
Would not deserve such a gift

I am tainted
And weak
Full of sin
And shame
I’m a disappointment
To some
Mostly myself, though

A lot of it
Is the lost opportunities
The chances I never took
The jumps I feared to dive into
The challenges
I know I should have
Faced
Because
In facing them
I’d have found
Strength
And tenacity

So I’m coming into
Me
Later than some
But at least
I’m meeting her
Me
And actually
Fucking
Liking her
Me

She’s worth
Fighting for
Because
Damn
She is
I am
Everything to me

And now
There’s an itching
Improbable though it may be
Along my shoulder blades
The peeling back
Of scarred skin
Toughened by years of
Remonstrations and self-flagellations

The gentle slide forth
Of opalescent
Wings
Gilded in light
Stretching
Reaching for the light
And for the wind
Lifting me
Whole
Me

I am lifting me
With my wings
Prepared for flight
Prepared for My Life

2 thoughts on “Wings

Leave a Reply

