There are Surprises

Last night
As I tried to quiet
My mind
And slow my racing heart

As I thought of all I’d like to
Forget about my trip
To the west coast

As I tried to
Unhear the nasty words
He wrote and yelled at me

I first thought
I’d pretend I was with
A lover in bed
But
That didn’t stop
Those repeating words

So I imagined a blanket
Of arms
Encircling
Enfolding me
My brothers and sisters
Who write with me
Who bear their hearts
Hurts
And journeys
As I do

And I felt
Eased

Lighter under the weight
Of accepting arms
And hearts

Surprised
But happily
At peace
I went to bed
Surrounded by fierce friends
Armed with laughter,
Empathy,
And sharpened pen points
When
Needed

Leave a Reply

