Everything Went Right

The paycheck arrived
The jobs kept coming
I was asked for help
I was hired to paint
I didn’t miss work
I didn’t drink too much
I didn’t eat too much
I went to my appointments
I didn’t fall down when he hurt me
I didn’t lie and say the trip was good
I sketched a design people liked
I thanked my parents

And even though everything went right
It’s still
Not right yet
Because
I am still scared
Still sleep too much
Hate the skin I’m in
And dream about someday
Someday God please
Not being alone
But –
At least I’m not wanting
“Anyone” any more –
I want
My other half
So, maybe, it’s getting there –
Towards all right.

Leave a Reply

